Daily Archives: November 18, 2006

Now, we’ll see….

Louie Villalobos

http://www.irishblueandgold.com

I have to be honest here. I watched, maybe, four plays of today’s Notre Dame game. There was just no reason to watch for me. Not when Ohio State and Michigan were trading knockout punches a few channels away.

I turned back at the end of the Army game to catch the final score. Notre Dame 41, Army 9. That was the score. That was what the Irish were doing to get ready for their biggest game of the year. I’m still a little worried.

Notre Dame will ride a good winning streak into California next Saturday. But USC will bring much more big game experience, and much more momentum. That’s provided they manage to beat California tonight. I know it’s too early to tell. I know that USC still has to play a very good Cal team. I even know that Charlie Weiss is a great coach who hasn’t lost on the road yet.

But, I also know that teams are only as good as the teams they’ve beaten. So far, Notre Dame hasn’t defeated many good teams. That will change next week, though. It will be a huge national stage where Brady Quinn will show the college football world what he and his receivers can do.

It will be where Weiss reminds people that he can game plan. Or, it will be another big game lost. I can’t wait. Go Irish.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized